• eggs-n-at
  • jr-advertising
  • Solutions-21
  • scoring-factory
  • baseline
  • 84

Wovchko Award

Wovchko2The Pittsburgh Basketball Club is proud to announce the formation of the Edward Wovchko Summer League Most Valuable Player Award for the top player in our Summer League Championships.

The award is named after legendary Cornell Basketball Coach Ed Wovchko, who created a dynasty a Class A dynasty at Cornell High School, leading the Raiders to 8 Section Championships, 4 WPIAL Championships, 4 PIAA State Final Four appearances and 1 PIAA runner up in his outstanding career. Ed also led Montour High School to resurgence in 2 separate coaching stints, winning the schools 1st section championship in the mid 80’s and leading the Spartans again to a WPIAL Final Four appearance in 2001.

Considered by many to be one of the top skill trainers in WPIAL history, “Wo” is highly regarded in utilizing the summer months as the training grounds for the skills and toughness required for competing for championships on an annual basis. The Summer League MVP award is a aptly named award for Wo, who developed skills in July in exchange for championship Gold in March.

Coach Wovchko remains active in our area basketball as an evaluator for our All America Showcase Camps,  where his astute eye for talent is utilized to determine our area’s nominations for various all star games and national camps..

The Pittsburgh Basketball Club is honored to name our Summer League MVP award for this outstanding Coach and person.

Wovchko Award Winners

YEAR Champion Playoff MVP
1994 OLSH Chris Kirkland
1995 OLSH Chris Kirkland
1996 Quaker Valley Andy Wormsley
1997 New Castle David Young
1998 Shaler Yuri Demetrious
1999 Aliquippa Josh Lay
2000 Aliquippa Monroe Weekly
2001 Aliquippa Darelle  Reavis
2002 Plum Bobby Franklin
2003 Moon Duane Compo
2004 Sewickley Acadmey Antonio DiMaria
2005 Beaver Falls Lance Jeter
2006 Bethel Park Mike Papp
2007 North Allegheny Ted Connolly
2008 Beaver Falls Todd Thomas
2009 Char Valley TJ McConnell
2010 Char Valley Matt Noszka andWayne Capers(Co-MVPS)
 2011  Char Valley  Wayne Capers
2012 New Caslte Shawn Anderson
 2013  Char Valley  Matt McConnell
2014 Ambridge Stephon McGinnis
2015 Char Valley Eddie Flohr
2016 Canon Mac Carson Miller
2017 Highlands Luke Cochran